top of page

MEDIA RELEASE: Hard work recognised at NT Landcare and NRM Awards

The hard work of quiet achievers protecting the environment in some of the toughest conditions and remotest locations in the Territory was recognised at a special awards ceremony in Darwin last night.

The NT Natural Resource Management and NT Landcare Award winners were announced at gala dinner as a highlight of the 2015 Territory Natural Resource Management Conference at the Darwin Convention Centre this week.

Territory Natural Resource Management Chief Executive Officer Karen May said the awards were an important way to recognise the efforts of people in the community who were often the quietest achievers.

“We know there is a lot of great work and projects being done across the Northern Territory with people caring for our environment, and we want to hear their stories,” Karen said. “Our winners receive great recognition from the community and their peers, while showcasing innovation and good practice in natural resource management.”

And the winners are …

NT Natural Resource Management Awards:

  • Best Collaboration in NRM – North Australian Fire Information (NAFI)

  • Agricultural NRM Champion – Indigenous Pastoral Program

  • Individual NRM Champion – Tahnee Thompson, Regional Weed Officer, DLRM

  • Best Urban NRM Group – Land for Wildlife and Garden for Wildlife, Alice Springs

  • Small Business Initiative in NRM – Wild Science

  • Research in NRM – Flora and Fauna Division, DLRM

  • Indigenous NRM Champion – Christine Ellis, Central Land Council Nyirripi Ranger Group

  • Best NRM Story – Arafura Swamp Rangers Aboriginal Corporation

NT Landcare Awards:

  • Australian Government Individual Landcarer – Peter Latz, Alice Springs

  • Australian Government Landcare Facilitator or Coordinator – Vanessa Drysdale, Dhimurru Aboriginal Corporation

  • Australian Government Innovation in Sustainable Farm Practices – Steve and Rebecca Cadzow, Mount Riddock Station

  • Coastcare Award – Lyn Lambeth, Darwin Harbour Clean-Up Partners

  • Junior Landcare Team – Alawa Primary School

  • Young Landcare Leader – Daniel Chapman, Gulf Savanna Regional Coordinator TNRM

  • Indigenous Land Management – Crocodile Island Rangers

  • Landcare Community Group – Finniss Reynolds Catchment Group.




bottom of page