top of page

MEDIA RELEASE: Make a nomination to show your appreciation

Territorians have twice the opportunities this year to be recognised for their commitment to protecting the natural environment and delivering more sustainable agriculture.

The NT Natural Resource Management (NRM) Awards and NT Landcare Awards are open to community and Landcare groups, farmers, rangers, businesses, schools, and individuals who help manage and protect the natural environment.

Territory Natural Resource Management chief executive Karen May urged Territorians to nominate people and groups that have made an outstanding contribution to looking after their local bushland area, beach, farm or pastoral property, school, park, or indigenous protected area.

“The awards are a great opportunity to acknowledge the people that commit their time and energy to caring for our land and seas, and to recognise the important work they do across the Territory”, she said.

“With 16 awards this year, there are many different achievements that can be recognised,”

The NT NRM Awards and NT Landcare Awards are free to enter. Nominations close 12 September.

Winners will be announced at an awards gala dinner on 22 November in Darwin, as part of the 2017 Territory Natural Resource Management Conference.

NT NRM Award categories:

1. Best Collaboration in NRM Award

2. Primary Producer NRM Award

3. Individual NRM Award

4. Small Business Initiative NRM Award

5. Research in NRM Award

6. Indigenous NRM Group Award. Sponsored by NT Parks and Wildlife Commission

7. NT Ranger Award. Sponsored by NT Parks and Wildlife Commission

NT Landcare Award categories:

1. Australian Government Individual Landcarer Award

2. Australian Government Partnerships for Landcare Award

3. Australian Government Excellence in Sustainable Farm Practices Award

4. Australian Government Innovation in Agriculture Land Management Award

5. Sure Gro Coastcare Award

6. Fairfax Landcare Community Group

7. Junior Landcare Team Award

8. Rio Tinto Indigenous Land Management Award

9. Austcover Young Landcare Leader Award

All NT Landcare Award winners will go on to be finalists at the 2018 National Landcare Awards.

To find out more or to submit a nomination visit

Josephine Grant, Central Land Council after winning the 2016 Indigenous NRM Champion Award.




bottom of page