top of page

Winners Announced for the 2018 NT NRM Awards

A prestigious gala dinner was held on Wednesday evening 14 November in Darwin to announce the winners of this year’s Northern Territory Natural Resource Management Awards. Over 260 guests, finalists, winners, dignitaries and partners attended the function held at Darwin’s Convention Centre on the Waterfront and winners took to the stage under collegial cheers and support. The evening was opened by a warm Welcome to Country by esteemed Larrakia elder and TNRM Board member, Bilawara Lee, and TNRM Chair Clare Martin was on stage to congratulate each winner. The annual award ceremony recognises the remarkable work undertaken by the Territory’s champions of nature, conservation and farming for the future. The diversity of work and commitment of Territorians in the NRM space is clearly demonstrated through the strong nominations received by the independent panel of judges, and what becomes clear through the winners list cross the ten categories is that a collaborative cross cultural approach to NRM is integral to successful and meaningful project outcomes.

The 2018 NT NRM award winners are:

Best Collaboration in Natural Resource Management Award Li-Anthawirriyarra Sea Rangers in collaboration with Desert Wildlife Services

Farmers & Fishers Sustainability Award Bawinanga Aboriginal Corporation

Indigenous Natural Resource Management Award Tjuwanpa Women Rangers

Ranger of the Year Award Helen Wilson, Central Land Council – North Tanami Rangers

Environment & Conservation Award Murnkurrumurnkurru Gurindji Rangers

Junior Natural Resource Management Champion Award Anula Primary School

Sustainable Enterprise Award Western Desert Nganampa Walytja Palyantjaku Tjutaku Aboriginal Corporation (WDNWPT; AKA 'The Purple House')

Research in Natural Resource Management Award Dr Shane Penny, Department of Primary Industry and Resources

Community Engagement & Action Award Land for Wildlife (Greening Australia)

Lifetime Achievement Award Dean Yibarbuk, Warddeken Land Management

People’s Choice Award Brendon Morgan-Armstrong, Bulgul Rangers

The awards were presented by category sponsors, including the Honorable Lauren Moss MLA, Minister for Tourism and Culture, whose Parks, Wildlife and Heritage Division, were sponsors of both the Indigenous Natural Resource Management and the Ranger of the year Awards.

NT NRM Awards celebrations are part of Territory Natural Resource Managements larger conference providing an important platform for conversations and demonstrations of successful and innovative on-ground projects through a series of presentations and workshops across three days.

Territory Natural Resource Management (TNRM) is a not-for-profit organisation that works in partnership with Territorians who manage our natural and cultural resources – our water, soil, plants and animals. TNRM are custodians of the NT Natural Resource Management Plan, which identifies the goals and priorities for NRM across the NT, and guides TNRM’s work. TNRM develop, support and deliver projects and source investment to maintain the NT’s natural environment; protect the habitat of threatened species and improve land management practices and sustainability. TNRM members include Indigenous organisations, industry bodies, community and Landcare groups, local government, pastoral companies and local businesses.




bottom of page