top of page

Champions of NRM recognised with awards

The shining stars of Natural Resource Management have been celebrated for their achievements with the winners announced in this year’s Northern Territory Natural Resource Management Awards.

From a Central Australia Indigenous tourism enterprise helping to protect a threatened species to an innovative grazing system, preserving precious water resources, all recipients have excelled at championing an NRM cause in their local area.

Territory Natural Resource Management (TNRM) CEO Karen May said that while the protection of our land, water and biodiversity was everyone’s business, these groups had been outstanding in their contributions to looking after the Northern Territory’s natural resources.

“These awards highlight the hard work of our NRM champions to protect country, educate the community, solve land management issues and improve land practices to ensure sustainable management into the future,” she said.

“From the winner of our Lifetime Achievement Award who has worked for more than three decades to help Territorians protect their biocultural knowledge to our young Eco Warriors from Nakara Primary School, who received the Next Generation NRM Award, I would like to congratulate all winners and finalists on this significant achievement.”

Hosted by TNRM since 2014, the awards recognise, celebrate and create greater public awareness of the diverse groups and projects that contribute to the sustainable management of the Northern Territory’s waterways, land and sea country.

The winners are

Best Collaboration in Natural Resource Management Award: Karrkad Kanjdji Trust

Farmers & Fishers Sustainability Award: Harding Trembath Stock

Indigenous Natural Resource Management Award: Walungurru Ranger TORAC

Environment & Conservation Award: Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia - Ayers Rock Resort

Next Generation Natural Resource Management Award: Nakara Primary School

Ranger of the Year Award: Steve Dwyer

Research in Natural Resource Management Award: Stygofauna Research Team, Research Institute for Environment and Livelihoods, CDU and CSIRO

Resilient & Sustainable Enterprise Award: Territory Native Plants

Lifetime Achievement Award: Glenn Wightman

People’s Choice Award: CapeArnhem Coast Clean Up

These awards are supported through funding from the Australian Government’s National Landcare

Program and the generous support of our Conference partners.

More information on finalists and winners here





bottom of page