top of page

Landcare heroes awarded

Landcare heroes across the Northern Territory have been recognised for their outstanding contributions to preserving the unique Territory landscape with the winners of the 2021 NT Landcare Awards winners announced.

Collaboration has been a major theme among the winners with several programs bringing a range of people and organisations together to protect vulnerable species, keep unique conservation assets free from invasive species and innovate to grow a successful, sustainable and profitable business.

Territory Natural Resource Management (TNRM) is the proud coordinator of the biennial NT Landcare Awards and congratulate all winners on this significant achievement.

TNRM CEO Karen May said the awards celebrate and honour local Landcare heroes excelling in sustainable agricultural practices, conservation of land and waterways, coastlines and biodiversity.

“The NT Landcare Awards are an opportunity to recognise the achievements of Territorians who commit their time and energy to looking after the environment and natural resources in their local area,” she said. “Some making impacts across several decades and spanning tens of thousands of square kilometres.”

She said winners had showed dedication and commitment to their cause across the Territory from Central Australia, Darwin, Katherine and the Douglas Daly region to Arnhem Land and Groote Eylandt.

“From the Desert Fruit Company winner of the Australian Government Landcare Farming Award who grew a successful, sustainable and profitable business farming dates in Australia’s arid zone to the Arnhem Coast Clean Up winner of the Coast Care Award for their work to remove up to 2500kg of Marine debris every year along the shorelines in northeast Arnhem Land,” she said.

“The youngest of those recognised, the Manyallaluk School, winner of the Woolworths Junior Landcare Team Award are helping to preserve traditional knowledge and the endangered echidnas are a true testament to the long-term principles of what it means to be a Landcarer and to preserve land for future generations.”

Ms May said that whether as a collaborative group or individually the work these heroes do plays a vital role in protecting and improving their local environment and these awards are a terrific opportunity to acknowledge their efforts and celebrate their achievements.

“For more than 15 years, the winner of the Australian Government Individual Landcarer Awards Doris Baylis has been adopting sustainable land management practices on Mataranka Station as well as encouraging other community members and raising awareness of regional Landcare priorities,” she said.

“I congratulate all winners on this significant achievement.”

The winners 2021 NT Landcare Awards will go forward to the 2022 National Landcare Awards later this year.

More information here





bottom of page